PRESENTATION CHAIRHOLDER RESEARCH FINANCING COOPERATION CONTACTS FRANÇAIS
Université de Montréal
Research Chair on Competitions and Contemporary Practices in Architecture

 

For immediate release.


Announcement of the:
“2012 CRC/LEAP Prize for exemplary competition in architecture and urban design”

The University of Montreal’s
Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture (C.R.C.) and
the Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (L.E.A.P.)

are pleased to announce
the “2012 CRC/LEAP Prize for Exemplary Competition”
presented during the international symposium on “International Competitions and Architectural Quality in the Planetary Age”
(March 16th and 17th, Université de Montréal, Canada)
 

 

Competitions are important for architectural, urban and landscape design and some competitions should be distinguished for their impact on society. This competition of competitions cases, which were selected from those cases presented by experts during this Montreal symposium, was initiated in order to strengthen international collaborations with organizations, scholars, critics, architects and designers around the world, many of which are archiving, studying and reflecting upon competitions as a means to improve the quality of our urban environments.

Georges Adamczyk (Canada) acted as President of the 2012 international jury whose members were: Izabel Amaral (Brazil), Carmela Cucuzzella (Canada), Emmanuel Caille (France), Stanley Collyer (USA), Thomas Hoffmann-Kuhnt (Germany), Denis Bilodeau (Canada).

The jury went through many case studies. From the small scale but sophisticated projects submitted for the Visitors’ Pavilion of the beautiful Martin House by Frank Lloyd Wright (2003) to the 1962 Peruvian competition which ended in the last heroic charge typical of a TEAM X social commitment (1962), from the four competitions for the Acropolis Museum (1976, 1978, 1989, 2000) to the recent competition for an extension to the Musée National des Beaux Arts du Québec (2009), from the great architectural events that were the Centre Georges Pompidou (1970) and the Parc de la Villette competitions in Paris (1976 and 1984) to the troubling and difficult achievement of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights in Winnipeg (2003), the jury had a very rich and arduous deliberation to select the winner. As one of the jury put it: ‘it would have been easier to select a bad competition’.

From the discussion, the following objectives were retained to define an “exemplary competition” in relation to the quality of our environments in the planetary age, a more qualitative and open way to capture opinions from various places in the world considering the composition of the jury:

  • The 2012 case study selected should be an international competition
  • It should have had an important public influence
  • It should contribute to build a better environment
  • It should be a strong reference for the profession and future clients
  • It should help construct a stronger discipline by offering original theoretical and practical knowledge
  • It should be pertinent at both the local and the global scale

The final case selected by the jury is outstanding if only in the fact that it did not generate only one competition but more than 60 since it started in 2000.

 

The 2012 winner of the CRC/LEAP Prize for exemplary competition is:

HafenCity Hamburg competitions
Germany(2000 - 2010)

 

This large inner city project covers more than 150 hectares and has 10.5 kilometers of riverbank on the Elbe. 2.32 million square meters will be built, offering 6000 units of housing, office space, commercial facilities, as well as new cultural and educational buildings. These competitions have attracted international architects like Herzog & De Meuron and OMA, among others. This project, one of the largest inner city urban regeneration projects in Europe, will generate 45 000 new jobs. It represents an extension of 40% of the inner city area. The master plan was elaborated in 2000. Since 2006, it is under the planning authority of the Commission for urban development. This organization was set up in order to achieve the goal of raising the quality of architecture in this part of the city. This Commission is formed with members of all the political parties. The aim of the Commission was to establish international standards for residential use. It imposes the competition format for all the housing projects. Every investor/user has to proceed, in conjunction with the city of Hamburg, with an architectural competition for which one of the first criteria is not the lowest price, but the highest quality for the users. Although the project started over 10 years ago, it is still active and will serve as a very important reference for tenders and competitions in the field of housing at its completion.

 

For more information on this large urban development:
www.hafencity.com

HafenCity, Hamburg

Université de Montréal Faculté de l'Aménagement École d'Architecture Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle [LEAP] Contacts

PRÉSENTATION TITULAIRE
+ assistants
RECHERCHES FINANCEMENT COOPÉRATION CONTACTS ENGLISH
Université de Montréal
Chaire de recherche sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture

Communiqué de Presse, pour diffusion immédiate.

 

Dévoilement du lauréat du
« Prix CRC / LEAP 2012 du concours exemplaire en architecture et projet urbain»

 

La Chaire de recherche de l’Université de Montréal sur les concours et les pratiques contemporaines en architecture (C.R.C)
ainsi que
le Laboratoire d’étude de l’architecture potentielle (L.E.A.P)
ont le plaisir d’annoncer
le Prix CRC / LEAP 2012 du concours exemplaire
à la suite du colloque international qui s’est tenu à l’Université de Montréal (Canada)
les 16 et 17 mars sur le thème : « International Competitions and Architectural Quality in the Planetary Age »

 

Les concours jouent un rôle important en architecture, en urbanisme et en architecture du paysage et certains concours méritent d’être célébrés pour leur impact sur la société. Ce concours des concours  portant sur des études de cas présenté par des experts au colloque de Montréal, a été mis en place dans le but de renforcer les collaborations internationales entre les organisations, les chercheurs, les critiques, les architectes et les concepteurs de par le monde qui travaillent à l’archivage, à l’étude et à la réflexion sur la façon dont les concours contribuent à l’amélioration de la qualité de nos environnements urbains.

Sous la présidence de Georges Adamczyk (Canada), le jury 2012 se composait des personnes suivantes : Izabel Amaral (Brésil), Carmela Cucuzzella (Canada), Emmanuel Caille (France), Stanley Collyer (USA), Thomas Hoffman-Kuhnt (Germany), Denis Bilodeau (Canada)

Le jury s’est penché sur de nombreux cas. Des projets sophistiqués pour le concours du Pavillon des visiteurs de la Martin House de Frank Lloyd Wright (2003) au concours péruvien de 1962 qui a sonné la charge héroïque typique des engagements sociaux du Team X, des 4 concours pour le Musée de l’Acropole (1976, 1978, 1989, 2000) au récent concours pour l’extension du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec (2009), de ces grands jalons que furent les concours du Centre Georges Pompidou (1970) et du Parc de la Villette à Paris (1976, 1984) jusqu’à la situation complexe du Musée canadien des droits de la personne (2003), le jury faisait face à une sélection difficile. À l’instar de la déclaration d’un des membres : « il aurait été plus simple de choisir un mauvais concours ».

Les objectifs suivants sont ressortis des discussions de façon à définir ce que pouvait être un « concours exemplaire »  dans sa relation à la qualité de nos environnements à l’ère planétaire, c’est-à-dire dans une complexité accrue par la variété des systèmes de valeurs reflétées par la composition du jury :

  • Le lauréat 2012 devait être un concours international
  • Il devait s’illustrer par un impact public considérable
  • Il devait contribuer à construire un environnement meilleur
  • Il devait constituer une référence forte tant dans la profession que pour de futurs donneurs d’ouvrage
  • Il devait soutenir la construction de connaissances théoriques et pratiques dans les disciplines concernées
  • Il devait démontrer une pertinence tant aux échelles locales que globales

Le cas retenu par le jury est d’ailleurs remarquable ne serait-ce que parce qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un seul concours mais d’un ensemble de plus de 60 concours depuis le début des années 2000.

 

Le Prix CRC / LEAP 2012 du concours exemplaire en architecture et projet urbain est attribué aux :

Concours pour le quartier HafenCity de Hambourg
Allemagne (2000 – 2010)

 

Ce grand morceau de ville couvre plus de 150 hectares sur une dizaine de kilomètres le long des rives de l’Elbe. Au total ce site construira près de 2.32 millions de mètres carrés, 6000 unités de logement, des bureaux, des espaces commerciaux ainsi que des édifices culturels et scolaires.  Ces concours ont attirés des bureaux internationaux tels que ceux d’Herzog et de Meuron ou OMA. Ce projet de régénération d’un des sites les plus importants en Europe, participera à la création de 45 000 nouveaux emplois. Il représente un ajout de 40% de la surface initiale de la ville. Le premier plan d’ensemble remonte à 2000. Depuis 2006, la planification relève de la Commission du développement urbain, organisation dont le mandat consiste en l’amélioration de la qualité architecturale de cette partie de la ville. Elle regroupe des élus de tous les partis politiques. Le travail de cette commission consiste à définir des standards internationaux pour les usages résidentiels. Chaque investisseur / utilisateur doit procéder par concours en accord avec la ville de Hambourg, sachant que le premier critère ne doit pas être le moindre coût mais la recherche de la plus haute qualité pour les usagers. Bien que le projet remonte déjà à plus de 10 ans, il est toujours actif et servira de référence majeure aux appels d’offre et aux concours dans le domaine de l’habitat collectif.

Pour de plus amples informations sur cet immense développement urbain :
www.hafencity.com

HafenCity, Hamburg

Université de Montréal Faculté de l'Aménagement École d'Architecture Laboratoire d'Étude de l'Architecture Potentielle [LEAP] Contacts